Closer Than Close – Book Review

Closer Than978-1-63146-408-9 Close – Awakening to the Freedom of Your Union with Christ By Dave Hickman really hit me at my core.  If you are anything like me, at one time or another you have found yourself struggling to be closer to God, trying to earn intimacy with God.  God knows that has been me more times than I want to admit.  Hickman shows us that we have it all wrong, I have it all wrong.  We need to stop looking for a relationship between two individuals (God and I), because what God is inviting us into is much more intimate, a union with Christ.

We cannot attain the presence of God because we’re already totally in the presence of God.  What’s absent is awareness.

“Union with Christ” – Those three little words, without complete understanding of what they mean, can be quite scary for most Christians.  But it is what God wants.  John 14:18,20 says “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. …In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you.”  That’s not a relationship, it’s a union, “in” that’s closer than close.

I loved how Hickman wrote this book.  I felt like I was on the back porch having a talk with a friend.  Simple terms and from the heart.  I also liked that at the end of each chapter there are discussion questions which makes this book great for a small group study.

I highly recommend Closer Than Close5 out of 5 stars.

You can read an excerpt HERE

Closer than Close is available on Amazon.

I am blessed to have received a copy of this book for free from Tyndale Publishers for review purposes.  I received no other compensation and the review is my own honest opinion of the book.

Have a blessed day, Jay

Leave a Reply

