Hosanna to Hallelujah

file9701250415795

They took palm branches and went out to meet him, shouting, “Hosanna!” “Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!” “Blessed is the king of Israel!” – John 12:13

From ancient times Christians have brought palm branches home from church on Palm Sunday.  Some place them on the wall behind a cross or sacred picture.  Farmers would bury palm branches in the corners of their fields.
As time went on, many people added a twist to this tradition by weaving the palms into a cross, a picture frame, or a flower. Some of these were very elaborate, requiring considerable craftsmanship which was passed on in families from generation to generation.

The holiest week of the year begins today.  But the world doesn’t stop.  Everything goes on, all the regular TV programs, the regular work schedule, income taxes, all of our daily chores.  So…if I want this to be a “holy week” what do I do?  I decide.

I decide to start my day with prayer.

I decide to spend quiet time with God’s Word.

I decide to submit, in all relationships.

I decide to go from shouting Hosanna (save me) to singing Hallelujah (Praise the Lord)!

Most of all I decide to acknowledge that Jesus came to meet my needs, not my expectations.

Leave a Reply

