Today Kicks Off Epic Grace Month

20140301-105650.jpg

Last November I had the privilege to review the book Epic Grace by Kurt Bubna. To say that the book changed the way I viewed God’s grace would be an understatement. That wasn’t the only change, it has changed the way I live. I know, it sounds a little over the top, but if you haven’t read the book you don’t know where I’m coming from.

I have always struggled with the mistakes I have made in my life, wondering if I have screwed up so bad that my relationship with God was broken beyond repair. If He was disappointed in me, had turned His back on me, the list of doubts is endless. Then I read Epic Grace. Kurt, a self proclaimed recovering idiot, shares his life, all the good and all the bad, and shows us that no matter how much we screw up, no matter how much of an idiot (yes I said idiot) we can be, God’s grace is EPIC.

The book means so much to me that for the month of March I will be sharing quotes and excerpts of the book Epic Grace here at My 52 Sundays. May God bless you and I hope that you too will find that God’s grace is truly Epic.

The following is an excerpt from the book Epic Grace. You can get the book HERE

I went back and forth on what to title this book, but I knew two words had to be included: grace and idiot. Both describe my life so well. Everything I have, everything I am, and every good part of me exists because of the unbelievable grace and goodness of God. His grace is truly epic. It’s larger than life and beyond my imagination. And that is a good thing, because too often in my life I’ve fallen into idiocy like a meteorite falling from the heavens, fast and hard with an explosive blast of burnout at the end.
I know that using the word idiot may not be politically correct. At times, it’s hard to keep up with what’s okay and not okay in our rapidly evolving cultural lexicon. That said, I assure you no offense is intended. As you read on, you’ll discover I am ex­ tremely honest about some ugly past failures in my own life. So, politically correct or not, the word idiot just fits. It perfectly describes me and the way I’ve lived all too often. On the other hand, I’m an idiot saved by the heroic, sacrificial, and epic grace of God. So, in that sense, I’m a recovering idiot, trust- ing God one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

