Epic Grace, A Book All Should Read!

Epic Grace _ Book

Kurt Bubna calls him self a “recovering idiot” and in his book Epic Grace, Chronicles Of A Recovering Idiot, he takes us on a hilarious, and at times tearful journey through his life to show us that no matter what we have done, how broken and how hopeless we may have become, and yes, how much of an idiot we can be at times, God’s grace is epic.  Kurt uses his own life stories of being an idiot to teach us, and show us that God’s grace is always there for us.  And that God never wastes anything—our strengths, our successes, or our mistakes.

Kurt writes with humor and heartfelt honesty, that in its self is truly refreshing.  As I read each of his stories of his sometimes idiotic behavior, I found myself realizing that I too have been an idiot at times.  In fact for the first time in my life I looked at my wife and proclaimed that, “I am an idiot!”.  I felt good proclaiming that, and I know that you may think that strange, but Kurt starts off this book with this;

I CAN BE SUCH AN IDIOT.

Really, by the most common definition of the word, I qualify, hands down.  Most of what I’ve learned, I’ve learned the hard way.  And I’ve made huge mistakes in just about every area of life.
I’m not that smart.
I’m not that polished.
I’m not that deep, profound, poetic, or philosophical.
Sometimes I feel completely inadequate and utterly overwhelmed.

If that passage sounds familiar to you, if your sitting there right now saying to yourself, that sounds like me, than this book is for you and for anyone you may know that has struggled with idiotic behavior and has wondered, “Does God still love me?”

I am someone that reads books with pencil in hand and underlines passages that strikes a nerve, causes emotion, inspiring, or just down right important to remember.  I can honestly say that every page has something underlined.  I am blessed to have had the chance to review this book.  Kurt calls this “my simple story” and his hope is that as you read it God’s grace will win your heart.  It has mine, and it will yours.

I am blessed to have received a copy of this book for free from Tyndale Publishers for review purposes.  I received no other compensation and the review is my own honest opinion of the book.  This book now holds a special place in my bookshelf as well as in my heart.  And to Kurt I say thank you for showing us that God’s Grace is truly EPIC!

You can find Epic Grace at Barnes&Noble and Amazon .  You can also read an excerpt of the book HERE.

Kurt W. Bubna

Kurt Bubna has been in pastoral ministry since 1976 and now serves as the lead pastor of Eastpoint Church, a large, growing, creative, and community-focused congregation in Spokane Valley, Washington (www.eastpointchurch.org). He passionately believes that the church should be a safe place to discover grace.

Bivocational during much of his twenties, Kurt was very successful in the banking industry for almost ten years. He has also traveled extensively as a speaker, worship leader, and short-term missionary in Great Britain, Mexico, Guatemala, Nepal, India, and Sri Lanka. For more information about his speaking availability and engagements, please see www.KurtBubna.com.  You can also follow Kurt on Facebook.

I hope you take the time to watch the following video.  It will be well worth your time.

2 thoughts on “Epic Grace, A Book All Should Read!

Leave a Reply

