I’m Doing a Great Work

Nehemiah 6 3

“I’m doing a great work and I cannot come down.”

Nehemiah 6:3

When my girls were little I would go in late at night and sit on their bed and stroke their hair and say out loud, “I’m doing a great work and I cannot come down.” There are a million things I could do and even more things that I could get involved in, but this is the great work that God has called me to do in my life and I am not coming down. For those of you with little ones or even teenagers I urge you to do the same thing. Walk in their room when they’re asleep, even if it’s very late, (you may have to set the alarm clock to get in there when they’re asleep) and you need to look at those tiny little bodies (or big old bodies) that God has entrusted you with and say “This is my great work and I will not, can not, come down!”

My daughters, and now my grandson and granddaughter are the greatest things I could give my life to. I am doing a great work and I’m not coming down and I’m not going to allow anyone or anything to distract me from the privilege I have of investing in these beautiful children. I know that they will go on to live longer than me and do things I would never have the chance or the potential to do. I’m doing a great work and I can’t afford to come down.

In my office at work I have pictures of my wife, my children, my grandchildren, and everyday I look at them and say I’m doing a great work and yeah there are other trips I could take and yeah there is more money I could make and yeah there are more opportunities I could chase and yeah I could be away from home more and always say yes to the people asking me to do things and I could be busy, busy, very busy but right here, right now I’m doing a great work; I’m doing a great work and I cannot come down.

Men, and ladies, you need to look at your wife or husband and say what a piece of work they are. He/She needs my help, where would he/she be without me. I don’t know what my wife thinks when she looks at me. She probably feels sorry for me. I understand that. But each of you needs to understand that there is a significant, significant role that you play and I don’t have to tell you what it is. You’re smart enough to know what it is but it’s so easy to get distracted. Starting today shout it from the rooftops, sing it loudly, let all know “I’m doing GREAT work and I cannot come down!”

Lead our children to a life with God.
Maintain a healthy marriage.
Maintain a realistic & healthy self-image.
Lead the family to be what God intended.
Foster a good work ethic.
Foster a concern for others.
Foster a sense of God’s call for their life.

Seek to be biblical parents!
Challenge culture, make God priority #1!

Today my friends I pray that you do your great work and when tempted you answer “I cannot come down!”

Peace, Jay

6 thoughts on “I’m Doing a Great Work

  1. I love this! We are so blessed to be involved in what God is doing in the next generation, it truly is a GREAT work!

    Sharing on fb…this message needs to be delivered!
    Lyn

Leave a Reply

