I Sing Your Praises

DSC_0685-001

 Praise the LORD! Praise God in his sanctuary; praise him in his mighty heavens! Praise him for his mighty deeds; praise him according to his excellent greatness! Praise him with trumpet sound; praise him with lute and harp! Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe! Praise him with sounding cymbals; praise him with loud clashing cymbals! Let everything that has breath praise the LORD! Praise the LORD! 
Psalms 150

Everyone who knows me knows that I love to sing, just not very well. But that doesn’t stop me from belting out a tune when the Glory of God overtakes me. One of the greatest ways to worship the Lord is in song. We can find many songs to the Lord in the Bible as well as in the Christian/Gospel section of your local record store, or for us digital age folk itunes. And all the songs found there are great examples of worship.

But there are far more songs that can be sung in worship to our Lord. Songs that you may not even have thought of as worship songs. I was reminded of this as I watched one of my favorite movies recently, Sister Act. The songs that the choir sang in the movie were not only good gospel songs but they also included, “I will Follow Him” by Little Peggy March and “My Guy” by Mary Wells. These songs are considered “pop” and “soul” music. But listen to the lyrics and they can be sung in worship to our God.

My Grandson and I were listening to some music by MercyMe and he so enjoys the song Ten Simple Rules. I had my itunes set to play randomly and the next song that came on was by Uncle Kracker, “You Make Me Smile”. The song has a great melody and my little 1 1/2 year old grandson started dancing and I found myself singing along and watching the pure joy in the little mans face as he danced with all his heart. And as I sang the lyrics hit me, the blessing of this time with my grandson, I began to sing in worship to the Lord. Here are the lyrics;

Your better than the best.
I’m lucky just to linger in your light.
Cooler than the flip side of the pillow that’s right.
Completely unaware.
Nothing can compare to where you send me
Let me know that it’s okay. Yeah it’s okay.
And the moments where my good times start to fade.

Chorus:
You make me smile like the sun,
Fall out of bed,
Sing like a bird,
Dizzy in my head,
spin like a record crazy on a Sunday night.
You make me dance like a fool,
forget how to breathe,
shine like a gold,
buzz like a bee.
Just the though of you can drive me wild.
Oh, you make me smile.

Even when you’re gone,
somehow you come along.
Just like a flower pokin’ through the sidewalk crack.
And just like that,
you steal away the rain,
and just like that.

Chorus:
You make me smile like the sun,
Fall out of bed,
Sing like a bird,
Dizzy in my head,
spin like a record crazy on a Sunday night.
You make me dance like a fool,
forget how to breathe,
shine like a gold,
buzz like a bee.
Just the though of you can drive me wild.
Oh, you make me smile.

Don’t know how I lived without you.
Cause everytime that I get around you
I see the best of me inside your eyes.
You make me smile

You make me dance like a fool,
forget how to breathe,
shine like gold,
buzz like a bee,
just the thought of you can drive me wild.

Chorus:
You make me smile like the sun,
Fall out of bed,
Sing like a bird,
Dizzy in my head,
spin like a record crazy on a Sunday night.
You make me dance like a fool,
forget how to breathe,
shine like a gold,
buzz like a bee.
Just the though of you can drive me wild.
Oh, you make me smile.

As we praise and worship we must always remember who is at the heart of our worship. Even when there is no music, we praise and worship our awesome heavenly Father and His Son, Jesus.

Leave a Reply

