Breaking Free From The Past

Php3.12

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12-14

One day at the circus a man was passing the elephants when he suddenly stopped, confused by the fact that these huge creatures where being held by only a single rope tied to their leg and the other end to a small wooden peg in the ground. It was obvious the elephants could easily break the rope or pull the peg out of the ground and walk away, but for some reason they did not.

He saw a trainer nearby and asked why these magnificently strong animals just stood there and made no attempt to break way.

“Well”, the trainer said, “when they are very young and much smaller we use a similar size rope to tie them. At that age it is enough to hold them. As they grow up, they are conditioned to think they cannot break away. They believe the rope can still hold them, so they never try to break free.”

The man was completely amazed. The elephants could break free at any time, but because they thought they could not, they didn’t even try. They were stuck right there.  This powerful, gigantic creature had limited it’s present abilities by holding on to it’s limitations of the past.

How many of us go through life limiting our abilities based on failures of the past?

I can either choose to stay fully bound up in my past, continue to blame everyone and everything , throw pity parties or I can choose to rise up and make a fresh start with the Lord by choosing to fully surrender my entire life into His hands.  I then need to work with Him to get my past fully cleaned up so that I can start to fully live in the present again and move towards the destiny that He has already planned out for my life.

Right now, right here, it’s time for me to let go and move forward.

Are you there God? It’s me Jay.

I’ve had it, I’m done, I surrender.

I hereby give up my need to do it my way, and I’m asking for help.

Help me be clear, and of service.

Help me show up and share my gifts.

And please. . .

Help me get out of my own way.

I want to shine so bright that even you God, have got to wear shades.

I know what I’m here to do.

Help me do it.

Leave a Reply

